One of the key events available at UFC 202 tonight is a duel between two of the top light heavyweights in the sport. Glover Teixeira (25-4 MMA, 8-2 UFC) will be taking on Anthony Johnson (21-5 MMA, 12-5 UFC). In UFC on FOX main events, after coming off a brutal 1st round Kos, both men made the first two in the official rankings of the UFC after Jon Jones was pulled for failing USADA drug test.

In Chicago, before Rumble withdrew due to personal reasons, the UFC on FOX 20 co-main event was the original fight. This hugely awaited matchup will come up in a month. Conor McGregor vs. Nate Diaz rematch at UFC 202 will be broadcast live from Las Vegas this Saturday, August 20. With a fight time slated for 7:00 p.m. PT / 10:00 p.m. ET airs on PPV and showing on Fox Sports 1 will be the prelims at 5:00 p.m. PT / 8:00 p.m. ET. On UFC Fight Pass the first three bouts will be at 3:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. ET.

At light heavyweight, Johnson has been sensational. In this weight class, Rumble had only one defeat after years of setback from weight cutting at middleweight and welterweight. He lost the fight against Daniel Cormier who is the current champion. Teixeira lost to Jon Jones at UFC 172 in a one-sided unanimous decision in the title challenge. A win tonight will put him in prime position to get that matchup although he has never fought Daniel Cormier like Rumble.

Having two great finishers gunning for the title will be incredibly exciting making it one of the greatest possible UFC light heavyweight fight that does not involve Jones or Cormier.

LEAVE A REPLY