The most prestigious and coveted title in the football world is going to be handed only to the journalists at this year’s gala. According to international media, FIFA is not sure if they will continue their collaboration with L’Equipe.

Ballon d’Or was created in 2010 after a merger between the French Golden Ball Football Association and FIFA World Player. Apparently, the contract between the French press agency and the football organization expired and no one has mentioned nothing about a potential prolongation.

According to AS, only the journalists have the right to vote their favorite football player, unlike the last six years when both journalists and captains of a national team affiliated to FIFA had the right to vote.

The Ballon d’Or organization was initially founded in 1956 by the actual Champions League. Since then, the trophy was granted every single year until 2010, when former FIFA president Joseph Blatter paid $15 million to obtain the rights of the organization.

According to an inside source, L’Equipe and FIFA stopped their successful collaboration after Gianni Infantino came on board.

Since its inauguration in 2010, the Ballon d’Or trophy was taken home five times by Lionel Messi, three times by Cristiano Ronaldo and three times by Ronaldo.

The first player who put his hands on a golden ball was the British Stanley Matthews in 1956, during his glorious era at Blackpool.

The 2016 Ballon Dor ceremony will be taking place on Monday, 09 January 2017 and FIFA will announce the nominees in November 2016 while 3-man shortlist will be announced in December 2016 after the voting process has been completed.