The Australian Open organizers, the first Grand Slam tournament of the year have submitted the list of players who will attend the 2017 edition set to take place in Melbourne between 16 and 29 January, informs the L’Equipe newspaper.

The Swiss champion Roger Federer (35), former world number one and currently ranked as the 16th in ATP top will take advantage of the occasion to make its grand return in the professional circuit.

Regarding the female tournament, the only significant absence from the group of 99 players will be Victoria Azarenka, who is expecting a child.

The new world leaders German Angelique Kerber and Briton Andy Murray will be seeded as No.1 in the competition across the globe.

Tommy Haas Dmitry Tursunov, Jerzy Janowicz and Thanasi Kokkinakis will use their protected status to enter in the main draw from the Australian Open men’s, just like Galina Voskoboeva and Karin Knapp.

There will be 16 male qualified players, 12 female players and eight wild-card recipients.

Seven of the 16 players invited to the tournament in Melbourne are: Kayla Day, Myrtille Georges, Kumkhum Luksika, Lizette Cabrera, Michael Mmoh, Quentin Halys and Denis Istomin.

The Swiss tennis player failed to attend any competition since July. Early in summer, Federer decided to take a six-month break due to a knee injury.